

January 17, 2024

ITEM TITLE:CITY COUNCIL RECOGNITION OF THE ESTABLISHED POLICY ROTATING MAYOR PRO TEMPORE DUTIES (0410-13).

ORIGINATING DEPARTMENT:

City Clerk

EXECUTIVE SUMMARY:

The duties of the Mayor Pro Tempore rotate to a different member of the City Council each year. This item allows the members of the City Council to confirm Councilmember Mitch McKay to serve as the next Mayor Pro Tempore pursuant to Imperial Beach City Council Policy 2.2.

RECOMMENDATION:

Staff recommends that the City Council move to confirm Councilmember Mitch McKay as Mayor Pro Tempore for a one-year rotating term beginning the first Council meeting in January pursuant to City Council Policy 2.2.

OPTIONS:

- Confirm Councilmember Mitch McKay as Mayor Pro Tempore for a one-year period pursuant to City Council Policy 2.2
- Request additional information and an additional report

BACKGROUND/ANALYSIS:

In accordance with the Imperial Beach Municipal Code, if the Mayor is absent or unable to act, the Mayor Pro Tempore shall serve until the Mayor returns or is able to act. During the absence or inability of the Mayor, the Mayor Pro Tempore temporarily has all of the powers and duties of the Mayor (IBMC 2.10.020). The Imperial Beach Municipal Code 2.10.010 states the City Council shall, at the next meeting after the first meeting in December (which is January 17, 2024), choose one of its members as Mayor Pro Tempore. The Mayor Pro Tempore shall serve on a one-year rotating term beginning the first City Council meeting in January pursuant to Council Policy 2.2.

In accordance with City Council Policy 2.2, the Mayor Pro Tem Rotation Selection process was established after the 2022 Municipal Election as follows:

- a. The current Councilmember who has not immediately served as the Mayor Pro Tempore during their current four-year term shall become the Mayor Pro Tempore: *Matthew Leyba-Gonzalez* (served as Mayor Pro Tem 2023)
- b. The Councilmember just elected with the most votes from the previous election shall be the next Mayor Pro Tempore: *Mitch McKay* (to serve as Mayor Pro Tem 2024)
- c. The Councilmember just elected with fewer votes from the previous election shall serve in the third year of their term: *Carol Seabury* (to serve as Mayor Pro Tem 2025)

d. The current Councilmember who just completed service as the Mayor Pro Tempore shall only serve again if elected to another term of office using the same pattern described above: *Jack Fisher* (served as Mayor Pro Tem 2022)

ENVIRONMENTAL DETERMINATION:

Not a project as defined by CEQA.

FISCAL IMPACT:

No fiscal impact associated with this report.

ATTACHMENTS:

- 1. I.B.M.C. 2.10.010 and 2.10.020
- 2. City Council Policy 2.2 The Role and Responsibilities of the Mayor Pro Tempore